banner USF Home College of Arts & Sciences OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Arts and Sciences > Department of Psychology

Student Presentation

Student and Alumni Highlights

Current News

Sunkyung Yoon (2nd year) received the Professor Charles D. and Carol Spielberger Endowed Fund Award for the Summer of 2016.

Patricia Calxte-Civil (1st year) received the Health Policy Research Scholars Grant funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Leah Boepple (5th year) was chosen for the Clinical Psychology Graduate Student Fellowship-Clinical and Lex Cowden Hindash (4th year) was chosen for the Clinical Psychology Graduate Student Fellowship-Research.

Bethany Edwards (3rd year) won the Cheryl Wynne Hare student poster award this summer at the Society for the Study of Psychopathy biennial conference.

Renee (Brown) Hangartner (6th year) is the Research Fellow/Principal Investigator for USF's socio-cultural immersion program called "This Bridge," which won the "Best Intercultural Arts Outreach" Award in Creative Loafing's Best of the Bay edition. She is also the USF campus representative of the Society for the Psychology of Women (APA, Division 35).

Giving Thanks to Graduates of Our Program

Brittany Jordan-Arthur (6th year), Michelle Kovacs (on internship), and Megan McMurray (on internship) received the 2015 Clinical Alumni Award for Citizenship.

Morgan Lee (5th year) and Brittany Jordan-Arthur (6th year) received the Eve Levine Graduate Teaching Award.

Heather McGinty (2014) was awarded the Stephanie and Adele Gilbert Award for Research on Women.

Robert Selles (2016) received the Richard LaBarba Memorial Scholarship Award for research in developmental psychology or developmental psychopathology.

Robin Tan (on internship) was selected as a recipient of a 2015 American Psychological Association Dissertation Research Award. This award of $1,000 is to be used to help offset dissertation research costs.

Danni Ung, Jason Chen, Melanie Bozzay, Brittany Jordan-Arthur, Bryan Benitez, and Monica Wu of the USF Psychology Student Diversity Committee were awarded the APA Grant for Ethnic Minority Recruitment, Retention, and Training in order to create a training workshop for undergraduate students from under-represented communities in the state of Florida.

Monica Wu (on internship) received the 2015 APA Division 53 (Society of Clinical Child and Adolescent Psychology) Student Advisory Board's Student Achievement Award and was awarded the 2014 IOCDF Oustanding Poster award for her poster entitled "Assessing Clinically Significant Obsessive-Compulsive Symptoms in Youth with Autism Spectrum Disorders".

Julie Cessna (on internship) received Meritorious Student Abstract honor at the Society of Behavioral Medicine. Julie's poster, "Impact of Androgen Deprivation Therapy (ADT) on Fatigue Among Men with Prostate Cancer" has been chosen by the reviewers and Program Committee as an excellent submission, and will be recognized as a Meritorious Student Abstract at the conference.

Laura Mayhew (2015) recognized by the Society of Behavioral Medicine for her research "The Role of Microvascular Complications in the Relationship between Glycemic Control and Depressive Symptomatology in Type 1 Diabetes: A Mediational Study." Her abstract was chosen by the reviewers and Program Committee as an excellent submission, and it will be recognized as a Meritorious Student Abstract at the conference.

Idia Binitie Thurston (2010) Outstanding Mentor Award at the University of Memphis Department of Psychology

Lynn Oelke (2013) received the Laird Cermak Award at the 42nd Annual Meeting of the International Neuropsychological Society 2014 for the best research presented in the area of memory or memory disorders. Her presentation entitled, "Source Memory and Generation Effects in Parkinson's Disease" was bases, in part, on her dissertation.

Erika Litvin Bloom (2011)was awarded the 2015 APA Division 50 (Society for Addiction Psychology) Distinguished Scientific Early Career Contributions Award.

Bryan Heckman (2014) was appointed to a faculty position at the Medical University of South Carolina.

Nicole Caporino (2011) received the 2016 ABCT Anne Marie Albano Early Career Award for Excellence in the Integration of Science and Practice. She was awarded the 2010 IOCDF Outstanding Poster for her poster entitled "Family Accommodation in Pediatric Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder: A Structural Equation Model" and received the Child Intervention, Prevention, and Services (CHIPS) fellowship.

2012 IOCDF Outstanding Poster awarded to Joseph McGuire (2015) for his poster entitled "Dysregulation in Pediatric OCD: An Examination of Symptom Severity, Impairment and Treatment Outcome".

Christa Labouliere (2013): In her position at the Center for Practice Innovations at the New York State Psychiatric Institute of Columbia University, Christa and her team of collaborators at Columbia, the University of Pennsylvania, and the New York State Office of Mental Health applied for an National Institute of Mental Health Applied Research Toward Zero Suicide Healthcare Systems (R01) grant. Their team, lead by Principal Investigator Dr. Barbara Stanley, just received a notice of grant award that they will receive one of three 5-year federally-funded grants to evaluate the effectiveness and implementation of the National Action Alliance for Suicide Prevention's "Zero Suicide" model in 185+ outpatient behavioral health clinics across New York State. Christa is co-investigator on this grant (her first R01) and PI of the subcontract to the division of Behavioral Health Services and Policy Research at the Research Foundation for Mental Hygiene/NYSPI. In this role, Christa will serve as Project Director of the upcoming largest implementation of suicide-safer care in outpatient settings ever to be conducted.

Diversity Committee

Student Publications, Presentations, and Grants

Our students are well published, have been involved in a number of presentations, and have received several grants.